Questions? Contact:

Rhode Island Children's Book Award Winners And Nominees

2024 Award Winner

The 2024 Rhode Island Children's Book Award winner is Killer Underwear Invasion!: How to Spot Fake News, Disinformation & Conspiracy Theories by Elise Gravel! This year 7,160 students from 99 schools and public libraries voted for their favorite 2024 nominee. A big thank you to all the librarians and teachers who promoted the list, connected kids with the books, and conducted voting!

2024 Voting Breakdown

1 Killer Underwear Invasion 1109  
2 The Whale Who Swam Through Time 979  
3 Swim Team 686  
4 Fighting for YES! 566  
5 A Rover's Story 439  
6 Expedition Backyard 422  
7 Flipping Forward Twisting Backwards 350  
8 Growing Pangs 347  
9 Amazing Landmarks 338  
10 A Comb of Wishes 254  
11 Going Places 246  
12 Nothing is Little 235  
13 Zia Erases the World 233  
14 Miles Lewis King of the Ice 204  
15 Forest Fighter 201  
16 Marya Khan and the Incredible Henna Party 152  
17 Keepunumuk 118  
18 Singing with Elephants 111  
19 The Button Box 107  
20 When Winter Robeson Came 63  


2025 Nominees

Visit the RICBA LibGuide for all resources. 

  1. Art Club by Rashad Doucet
  2. The Boy Who Tried to Shrink His Name by Sandhya Parappukkaran, illustrated by Michelle Pereira
  3. Champion Chompers, Super Stinkers and Other Poems by Extraordinary Animals by Linda Ashman, illustrated by Aparna Varma
  4. Ellen Takes Flight: The Life of Astronaut Ellen Ochoa by Doreen Rappaport, illustrated by Oliver Dominguez
  5. Finch House by Ciera Burch
  6. Grimwood by Nadia Shireen
  7. The Guardian Test by Christina Soontornvat, illustrated by Kevin Hong
  8. Home Away from Home by Cynthia Lord
  9. How Not to Get Eaten by Josette Reeves, illustrated by Asia Orlando
  10. Jovita Wore Pants by Aida Salazar, illustrated by Molly Mendoza
  11. The Last Plastic Straw by Dee Romito, illustrated by Ziyue Chen
  12. Lolo’s Sari-Sari Store by Sophia N. Lee, illustrated by Christine Almeda
  13. Mabuhay! By Zack Sterling
  14. Meesh the Bad Demon by Michelle Lam, illustrated by Lauren “Perry” Wheeler
  15. My Powerful Hair by Carole Lindstrom, illustrated by Steph Littlebird
  16. Sam Makes a Splash by Nicole Melleby
  17. Sejal Sinha Battles Superstorms by Maya Prasad, illustrated by Abira Das
  18. Shermy & Shake, the Not-So-Nice Neighbor by Kirby Larson, illustrated by Shinji Fujioka
  19. Something Like Home by Andrea Beatriz Arango
  20. These Olive Trees by Aya Ghanameh


RICBA Winners and Nominees 2010-2023

Year Winner Nominees
2024 Killer Underwear Invasion!: How to Spot Fake News, Disinformation & Conspiracy Theories by Elise Gravel 2024 Nominees
2023 Allergic by Megan Wagner Lloyd and Michelle Mee Nutter 2023 Nominees
2022 The Oldest Student: How Mary Walker Learned to Read by Rita Lorraine Hubbard and illustrated by Oge Mora 2022 Nominees
2021 Titan and the Wild Boars: The True Cave Rescue of the Thai Soccer Team by Susan Hood & Pathana Sornhiran 2021 Nominees
2020 Inky's Amazing Escape: How a Very Smart Octopus Found His Way Home by Sy Montgomery 2020 Nominees
2019 Sergeant Reckless: The True Story of the Little Horse Who Became a Hero by Patricia McCormick and illustrated by Iacopo Bruno 2019 Nominees
2018 O'Connor, Barbara. Wish. New York: Farrar, Straus, and Giroux, 2016. 2018 Nominees
2017 Telgemeier, Raina. Sisters. New York: Graphix, 2014. 2017 Nominees
2016 Bell, Cece. El Deafo.New York: Amulet Books, 2014. 2016 Nominees
2015 Grabenstein, Chris. Escape from Mr. Lemoncello’s Library.New York : Random House, 2013. 2015 Nominees
2014 Palaciao, R.J. Wonder. New York : Alfred A. Knopf, 2012. 2014 Nominees
2013 Santat, Dan. Sidekicks. New York: Arthur A. Levine Books, 2011. 2013 Nominees
2012 Angleberger, Tom. The Strange Case of Origami Yoda. New York: Amulet Books, 2010. 2012 Nominees
2011 Jenkins, Steve. Never Smile at a Monkey: and 17 Other Important Things to Remember.  Boston: Houghton Mifflin Books for Children, 2009.      2011 Nominees
2010 Kibuishi, Kazu. Amulet. Book 1, The Stonekeeper. New York: Graphix, 2008.   2010 Nominees
1991-2010 Winners and Nominees